Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Delete

2fun2Bbad2fun2Bbad Posts: 110 ✭✭
edited March 9, 2019 10:57AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I just got back my Trueviews, what do you think the grade was?

Comments

• Options
    HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 28, 2019 8:29AM

PR67
    PR66
    PR67
    PR67
    PR67RB

Certs are shown.

Edit to add: Before pics: https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/1014882/1961-5c-jefferson-nickle

Thanks for the follow-up results @2fun2Bbad.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭✭

Why did you bother submitting those? I don't see any value there slabbed or not. Sorry.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options

Yea, it was disappointing, I thought they would be cameo or even deep cameo, guess I need to study more because I still haven't figured out why they aren't. Anyone care to share with me knowledge on why they weren't, obviously I am new to this and want to learn.
    Thank you for the help and encouragement.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can't help with the cameo question as it is an area that has never held much interest for me. I do think you need to avoid very common date coins as it is easy to waste money slabbing such material. Even if you end up getting a high grade it can be difficult to sell because the collectors of such material tend to "make their own" rather than paying a premium and buying it already graded.

Beware of "one way markets". Promoters want to sell such coins to you at a big premium but when you want to sell to them the "have an adequate stock at the present time." The "present time" mean forever.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 28, 2019 9:04AM

PCGS info posted with vid:

Deep Cameo
    1950-1970 Proof Coinage:

Heavily frosted devices on both the obverse and reverse, with no areas of the main devices unfrosted.