Home U.S. Coin Forum

Fun coins!

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and, other than upsetting one individual that thinks fraudulence has acceptable gradations, everyone has been super kind and helpful. Thank you all for making me feel welcome!

Recently I enjoyed posting a couple images of a neat 55 DDO Lincoln on a tapered plachet and many seemed to enjoy viewing it. So I've decided to post a few more (what I feel are fun) coin images.

My personal passion in collecting for the past 25 years has been mainly high end registry quality varieties, especially Lincoln's (for which I'm an authority). However I greatly enjoy any coin with lots of rarity, drama, flash and pizzazz. I think they're all great! I especially enjoy coins wherein "the more you look at them the more you see".

Lastly, for any that may be interested, I'm about 30 days from launching my first "built from scratch" E-Commerce site. It's called EScottCoins.com. I have over 200,000 items in stock and 100% of my inventory is in a "click a button" database I created. With a click of a button I can see if I have what someone is looking for (no waiting for me to search to see if I have it) as well as 100% of the history of the item since I acquired it. Please feel free to PM me if I can be of any assistance! :smile:

On to a few (what I think are fun) coins:

I enjoy the catastrophic odds of flip over double struck in collar coins. Especially when they're well struck and rotated to an orientation that creates a lot of eye appeal. This 1975-D nickel is one of my favorites:

I enjoy any coin that is a nice representation of "something" over "something". This is a 1982 Panamanian 1/2B struck over a 1972 Kennedy half:

Double denominations are another genre I enjoy when the drama is high. This is one of my favorites. It's a 1999 15 cent piece:

And....how about a "Blast From The Past":

Lastly, just a couple nice thoroughbred varieties: