Help a newbie....looking to continue a legacy

Hi all,

Coin collecting newbie here. I am a long time member on the sports card side of CU with several sets on the registry. However, coins are completely new to me.

I am doing this mainly to give my Dad and myself something to enjoy in his twilight of life. He has been a coin collector since the early 60s. I never took up the hobby. He is now retired, 75 years old and his body is starting to turn on him. I thought I would start collecting something he and myself could have conversations about. I bought 2 Morgan's off of Ebay, took them over to him to look at and his eyes lit up like a kid at Christmas. He went down to his basement where he keeps his coin stuff, grabbed a blue book and a red book (I have no idea what they are) and started looking up the dates, what he thought they would grade, how many were made, etc., etc......I know how much of a rabbit hole you can run down with collecting stuff, so I have decided that I will just focus on these silver dollar coins. They seem to be plentiful, are nice looking and have enough variation to enjoy collecting. With that being said.....I am looking for some direction on what would be the best route to go, what to look for, what is a decent price to pay and best place to find stuff. I know there are literally hundreds of on-line publications, but I like the community here at CU and feel collectors, that have no vested interest in click traffic, are a better resource for honest information. And from my experience on the PSA side of the pond, there knowledge base here is vast and, usually, friendly and helpful.

So with that.....any Morgan collectors out there that can help a brother out?

Comments

• clarkbar04clarkbar04 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭✭✭

They are one of the most widely available US coins, and certainly from the 19th century.