Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Question:

A guy offered to buy this Morgan dollar from me for $20 is that a RIP off?

Comments

• Options
    yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭✭✭

Melt value is $12.41, so the offer could be worse.
    I'm not a series expert, so I can't tell you from the photos if it is fake or if it has been polished or whizzed.
    From the photos you suggest it is PL or DMPL. You can look up some prices here:
    https://www.pcgs.com/prices/priceguidedetail.aspx?ms=1&pr=1&sp=1&c=744&title=morgan+dollar
    But these really only apply if it has been authenticated and graded by PCGS.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,008 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pictures are horrible. That might be way too much money, the right amount, or not enough. The reverse looks like the coin could have been messed with. If so, $20 is not unreasonable. But it's impossible to tell from those photos.

• Options
    markelman1125markelman1125 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks cleaned, probably worth melt value. Since you spent more than melt witch is around $12 you probably got ripped off. I suggest find a nicer affordable Morgan, ideally graded👍

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭✭

@markelman1125 said:
    Looks cleaned, probably worth melt value. Since you spent more than melt witch is around $12 you probably got ripped off. I suggest find a nicer affordable Morgan, ideally graded👍

Most any Morgan dollar trades above melt value. Also, the original poster stated that he was offered $20, not that he paid that amount.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭✭✭

A problem-free BU example of this date and mint should sell for $40-$45 retail. I can't tell if your example is problem free or not.

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    markelman1125markelman1125 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 30, 2019 7:59PM