Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newbie here - with a 2000 $5 American Gold Eagle coin (MIB) to ask about...

Hello all! I'm new here, obviously :smile: , and I could use your help:

My uncle recently gave me a few coins and asked me to sell them for him, as his late wife had bought them and never bothered opening them.

At least one of them is a 2000 $5 american gold eagle of the millennium coin, in its blue velvet box, with a certificate of authenticity. I also have the receipt from the purchase to help validate it, if needed, but idk... is that even necessary? I'm clueless about coinage, sorry!

My questions are as follows:

What details are important to collectors, that I should include? (for this listing, and just generally speaking - I have more coins to sort through...)
What photos (besides the ones I'm uploading here) should I include?
Can you give me a price check on what this coin usually goes for?
Lastly, would Buy It Now be a solid option, or are these so rare I should put it to auction?

Thanks in advance for any advice you give me! I appreciate it!

PS. If I've missed an introductions forum somewhere, kindly point me towards it, and I'll go make a post, with my apologies for missing it. :)

Link to my one coin for sale will be here when I figure out where to sell it, eventually.

Comments

• Options
    ParadisefoundParadisefound Posts: 8,588 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 17, 2018 6:22PM

Welcome to CU ...... nice coin! Good year; turn of the century 1/10 gold <3

• Options
    bugbitbugbit Posts: 155 ✭✭✭

Welcome. Its a bullion coin so not very rare. I'd search the recently sold listings on ebay to see what they are fetching. Good luck

• Options

Thank you for the warm welcome! :)

Link to my one coin for sale will be here when I figure out where to sell it, eventually.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,903 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jyffam said:

Welcome

Straight bullion. About $120 these days.

• Options