Home U.S. Coin Forum

PCGS Show Las Vegas Assistance

Hello,
I will be a brief as possible. I am 100% total newbie. Most of my coins are Morgan's I inherited some coins form father. I was taken for a ride from a local dealer. I still have a few coins I would like to get graded and sell in Vegas. Questions:
1) I understand grey sheets reb book etc are all estimated amounts. I should use them only as a rough idea or somewhat a ballpark number, Is that correct?
2) When selling a coin, I understand a dealer wound want to make a profit when he/she sells the coin but to what point is it a profit versus being taken advantage of. For example lets say 1893-S F15 PCGS shows $4,250 with 5 sales in last year starting at 3.5 and ending in July this year 3.8. Based on all things being equal I would like to get as much money as possible but still understand the dealer needs to make a profit. So at approx. what price is amicable for both parties versus dealer getting the better end of the deal and lowballs me at 3k.
4) The coins I want to sell most 1/2 are graded and the others are not. How would I decide by looking at the grading guide if its worth getting them graded at the show for 65.00 a piece, I don't feel comfortable making grading assumption with no prior knowledge or experience. When I go to submit the cins for grading would the person be knowledgeable and make suggestions lor coach you. Like when you play blackjack, sometimes the dealer will nudge you one way or another If you are unsure. Will the person taking my coins do the same and say something like, " You might want to rethink this coin" or "Are you sure you want to spend money to grade this coin" etc
5) I will be totally lost the this show. So is there someplace at the show I should avoid trying to sell my coins to and are the places I should definitely look into?

I have tons more questions but for now I would greatly appreciate some honest, real world advice please!

Thanks

Comments