Home U.S. Coin Forum

1936 d 3 1/2 buffalo nickel

Is this a 1936 D 3 1/2 leg buffalo nickel?
I'm new to collecting and thought I'd get some valued opinions. I found it in the spare change thing at a gas station that sits next to the register. Swapped it for 2 other nickels in my pocket change

Comments

• Timbuk3Timbuk3 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nope, sorry !!! :(

Timbuk3
  • CoinCrazyPACoinCrazyPA Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 10, 2018 5:51PM

No, but keep looking though.

Positive BST transactions: agentjim007, cohodk, CharlieC, Chrischampeon, DRG, 3 x delistamps, djdilliodon, gmherps13, jmski52, Meltdown, Mesquite, 2 x nibanny, themaster, 2 x segoja, Timbuk3, ve3rules, jom, Blackhawk, hchcoin, Relaxn, pitboss, blu62vette, Jfoot13, Jinx86, jfoot13,Ronb

Successful Trades: Swampboy,
  • koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here's a good image of the variety. There's only a "peg leg" remaining.

• SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,477 ✭✭✭✭✭

No, but good find from a spare change cup.

• crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭✭

The OP’s Buff looks fake. At least that my take.

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Bigsky406...Welcome aboard... It is not a 3 1/2 leg.... Some good pictures there....Strange to find a buff in a change tray though. Cheers, RickO

• BuffaloIronTailBuffaloIronTail Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 11, 2018 8:11AM

The 1936-D 3 1/2 Leg is a tough coin to find! It is my opinion that the die was pulled shortly after the reworking. I have always thought that it might have been the same employee that caused the missing or diminished leg on other Denver Buffs through out the years.

27-D, 36-D and of course 37-D.

The first image is a 1927-D VF-30 3 1/2 Leg.

Pete

"I tell them there's no problems.....only solutions" - John Lennon
  • johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 28,112 ✭✭✭✭✭

no, sorry