Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1986 Fleer Basketball Pack - what would you do?

I have a 1986 Fleer basketball pack that I’ve owned forever and I know is good but the seal is “popped” which obviously severely impacts its value. However the back card in the pack is the Jordan sticker. I love unopened packs so opening it doesn’t seem right but it also would be awfully fun knowing that at least one of the cards is a solid hit. The economics seem to lean towards opening it. Thoughts??

Comments

• Options
    ElvisPElvisP Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

Rip it and post pics!!

• Options
    dan89dan89 Posts: 484 ✭✭✭✭✭

Can you see who the top card is? Non sticker side.

• Options

I can’t tell although I’m far from an expert there

• Options
    HighGradeLegendsHighGradeLegends Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭✭

Shine a light into front wax paper May have insight for sequence in the pack

• Options
    secretstashsecretstash Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭✭

I think if the seal is truly popped then it won't be sold above most other packs on ebay for $300 or less because it cannot be graded. I am sure it is authentic based on your experience, but only you will know that. I say rip it and post it on youtube for everyone. Might get lucky.

• Options
    Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,351 ✭✭✭✭✭

My best advice?

Email Steve Hart at BBCEx and get his opinion.

My gut? Seal popped - you own it - open - hope for a 10 and all is well?

Best of luck buddy.

Mike
  • Options
    grote15grote15 Posts: 29,535 ✭✭✭✭✭

I agree if seal is popped you may as well open it. You can't authenticate it in that state so you may as well open it and hope for a hit.

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.
  • Options
    Tecmo BoilTecmo Boil Posts: 259 ✭✭✭

If you do rip it, make sure you don’t spit all over the cards when you yell like a maniac over your Jordan! :D

• Options