Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

History Lesson: Commemorative Coins #1

My favorite post's are the ones that give me the history of certain coins or series of coins. I'm a beginner in my quest to complete the 144 Classic Commemorative Set. I'm currently reading "A Basic Guide to U.S. Commemorative Coins" by Michael J. Hodder and QDB. I wanted to share some of the pages here, with others, who may be interested in this series as much as I am. I'll share a Paragraph or two on a weekly basis. Just want to share some history and hope it's not too boringimage

Commemorative Silver Coins
The Diversity of Commemoratives
Some commemoratives were issued for events of true historical importance on a national scale, and others were produced for observances of stricly local interest. Among older issues of interest to all Americans are the 1892-1893 World's Columbian Exposition, 1915-S Panama-Pacific International Exposition, and 1926 Sesquicentennial of American Independence half dollars. Of purely local or regional interest are such half dollars as those issued in 1936 to observe the 250th anniversary of the granting of a city charter to Albany, New York; in 1925 to memorialize the centennial of the founding of Fort Vancouver in Washington State; and in 1936 to commemorate the 150th anniversary of Lynchburg, Virginia's city charter.
One of the most curious of all commemorative half dollars is that produced to observe the 200th anniversary of the change in status of Norfolk, Virginia from a town to a borough. The coin bears five dates-1636, 1682, 1736, 1845, and 1936-none of which is the date when the coin was struck, 1937!

I hope this was found interesting and hope some look forward to the next "History Lesson"image

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>The coin bears five dates-1636, 1682, 1736, 1845, and 1936-none of which is the date when the coin was struck, 1937! >>

Wow, I never thought about that before. Cool trivia item.