Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newb Needs Advice on Buffalo Nickel

Hello, I'm new to the forum, and coins in general (though I collected coins as a child, and still have them!).

I am a metal detecting hobbyist and recently found a 1926 S buffalo nickel. Unfortunately, I scraped the back side of the coin with my digging tool (it was packed in road base material, and I honestly thought it was going to be another piece of aluminum trash). The detail on this coin is pretty amazing, so it couldn't have been in circulation long before it was lost, and I have learned that this is a rare year. So, I'm trying to figure out if I should leave it as-is (with the scratch on the back) or clean it (which should remove the scratch, but also probably some of the detail). What is recommended in this situation, in order to retain maximum value? And if cleaning is the right way to go, what is the best method for cleaning this particular coin?

Thank you! Here's a picture of the coin (I hope this works!):

1926s Buffalo Front&Rear
The American People have become sheep who look to the government as their shepherd; grateful for a sweater given in exchange for their wool, blissfully ignoring their frozen hind quarters. -jwb

Comments

• Options
    lkeigwinlkeigwin Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Don't mess with it. You'll only make it worse.

If you must, an acetone or oil soak might help with the verdigris. Just don't expect a miracle.

Lance.
  • Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,741 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Leave it alone. Anything you do at this point is likely to make it worse.
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    TopographicOceansTopographicOceans Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭✭

Well the first rule is to never clean coins.
    However since you dug this up it may be an exception.

You can try soaking it in acetone for a few hours and then rinse it off and see what it looks like.