Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Clemente 3000th Hit Ticket Stub

Just thought I'd share the link to this very cool item.

LINK
Collector of most things Frank Thomas. www.BigHurtHOF.com

Comments

• Options
    storm888storm888 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭
    Folks Who Bite Get Bitten. Folks Who Don't Bite Get Eaten.
  • Options
    cubfan89cubfan89 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭
    I have a quick question. Why do some people get their tickets back and there is no grade? It just says "authentic". I notice this at the trade show I went to a few weeks back. I was just wondering why some people do this. Isn't the whole point of paying for grading having them graded? I have a small collection of tickets I've been saving for 15 years or so. I want to send them in but I am kind of nervous since I found out how tough they seem to be on ticket grading. A buddy sent some of his in and I swear before he sent them I looked and cound't find one thing wrong with them and some came back as 6's or 7's. I was shocked!
  • Options
    WoW! $800 bucks! Yikes!
  • Options
    MooseDogMooseDog Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭
    They seem to grade tickets tougher than cards even. And tickets/stubs by there very nature for the most part end up going to the games with you. Unless you take your tickets in card savers or something, the are going to get "de-minted". Until recently there wasn't much interest in collecting tickets for value - it was cheap and fun. I used to trade with guys and we'd just send each other envelopes jammed with tickets without regard to how much they were worth.

I sent in some nice WS ticket stubs and was horrified at the grades. I won't be doing that again. You can actually get more money for most WS tickets raw than slabbed UNLESS high graded. I have found that ticket collectors for the most part don't care about the grade/slabbing. It's the higher end speculators/flippers that drive the top of the market.

At $25 a shot it's not worth it to me.
  • Options