Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Interesting Question from eBay Bidder... how would you respond?

airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 22,022 ✭✭✭✭✭
I just got this question for a toned mint set I have listed, and am curious as to how you would reply.

hello
I am totally new to coin collecting and love these coins and thank you for offering them. I am cautious as a beginner but wonder can you guartanteed I get get them graded by pcgs or NGC and that they are not at [AT] toned. Thank you and apologies for my stupid beginner question but if I win and they are rejected by the grading companies I would most likely never collect coins again.
thank you

Now, I am 100% certain the coins and their colors are legit, and every one of them will slab. However, at the same time, the question seems to be setting me up for:
A- Buyer's remorse
B- Some dissatisfaction because of a misunderstanding

My gut was to reply that while I'm sure the coins are legit, this eBayer shouldn't be buying if he is that unknowledgeable about the items. The coins are textbook examples of NT mint set colors, and something just seems fishy here. The buyer has 100% positive (278) but I don't see any coins in his feedback.

Jeremy
JK Coin Photography - eBay Consignments | High Quality Photos | LOW Prices | 20% of Consignment Proceeds Go to Pancreatic Cancer Research

Comments

• Options
    ArizonaJackArizonaJack Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭
    thats a toughie....pics would help US see the coins, but I have done that with Rpm's and Omm's before.......never had a problem
    " YOU SUCK " Awarded 5/18/08
  • Options
    RussRuss Posts: 48,515 ✭✭✭
    You should also explain the subjective and frequently inconsistent nature of third party grading.

Russ, NCNE
  • Options