New eBay scam!
I received an e-mail from eBay that appears to be a question. The person asks if my item is the same as a store item and then give me an address of:
stores.ebay.com/W2QQZ15014733XXXXX (last 5 characters removed for safety) and then you are directed to a page that asks for your ID and password. But if you look at the address you see this: http://site.voila.fr/1rekaXXXX/item9722396496.html (again characters changed for safety) which is located in France.
I did not enter any information and I reported this to eBay.
Please be careful. This one almost got me!
eBay user id was smark6611 but it might be a hijacked account.
Edited to fix typos!
stores.ebay.com/W2QQZ15014733XXXXX (last 5 characters removed for safety) and then you are directed to a page that asks for your ID and password. But if you look at the address you see this: http://site.voila.fr/1rekaXXXX/item9722396496.html (again characters changed for safety) which is located in France.
I did not enter any information and I reported this to eBay.
Please be careful. This one almost got me!
eBay user id was smark6611 but it might be a hijacked account.
Edited to fix typos!
I'd keep playing. I don't think the heavy stuff will be coming down for quite a while!
0
Comments
Russ, NCNE
Buying top quality Seated Dimes in Gem BU and Proof.
Buying great coins - monster eye appeal only.
I'm not sure if there is a store that has a meta tag in it or if the random characters run a script on ebay's site and it has been hacked somehow.
Sorry Russ, this was the first time I've seen this type of scam and I've been using ebay since 2000 so I've seen a few. I'd rather post this and have it be redundant than to not post it and have someone get scammed.
<< <i>What I'm concerned about is that they have figured out a way to get ebay's store site to redirect to the scam site somehow.
I'm not sure if there is a store that has a meta tag in it or if the random characters run a script on ebay's site and it has been hacked somehow. >>
I think you've just been lucky. I've been getting redirects like that for years now. So many I've lost track. I usually fill them out with words I can't post here.
Don't know your browser, but I use SeaMonkey and the Spoofstick add-on. That tells me exactly what site I'm on regardless of the URL.
I believe any Mozilla based browser will allow the Spoofstick add-on.
John Marnard Keynes, The Economic Consequences of the Peace, 1920, page 235ff
<< <i>What I'm concerned about is that they have figured out a way to get ebay's store site to redirect to the scam site somehow.
I'm not sure if there is a store that has a meta tag in it or if the random characters run a script on ebay's site and it has been hacked somehow.
Sorry Russ, this was the first time I've seen this type of scam and I've been using ebay since 2000 so I've seen a few. I'd rather post this and have it be redundant than to not post it and have someone get scammed. >>
No. The scammers make the link appear to be whatever they would like. For any newbies, never click on a link in an unknown email. The link in the email may say ebay, or stores.ebay, or your bank, or amazon or any other reputable site, but is masked and takes a person to a scam site. Thousands of people fall for these simple scams every day. Taking the precaution of never clicking on an email link, eliminates 99% of them. For ebay, a person can always check their messages in a new window or a favorites link. That will also get rid of 90% of ebay scams.
Once in a great while the scammers get spyware onto a person's computer and that is bloody awful to get rid of.
<< <i>No. The scammers make the link appear to be whatever they would like. For any newbies, never click on a link in an unknown email. The link in the email may say ebay, or stores.ebay, or your bank, or amazon or any other reputable site, but is masked and takes a person to a scam site. >>
Actually, this particular scam uses legit eBay URLs for store pages and about me pages. The hijacker simply codes the page with a redirect script.
Russ, NCNE
I don't think I've done a very good job of explaining this and why it surprised me. I did not click on a link. I typed the URL into the browser and the URL started with http://stores.ebay.com which is valid, but does not ask you for your ID and password because you can brouse without logging in. But when you type in the rest of the URL which came through the eBay system (I don't answer the questions through e-mail but through "My eBay" instead) that is when I was redirected to the sire in France.
I know that you have seen the clever but fake login pages and have been bombarded with scams. I just thought this was different because the URL was typed not a fake link.
I'd be happy to PM the real link to someone if they want to try and figure this out (at your own risk of course).
As Russ mentioned I too have seen this one before and almost fooled until I checked my eBay account and found no record of the question.
I have learned never to trust emails. Just as is mentioned in this thread these emails are very deceptive.
For all the newbies out there don't click on any eBay links in emails.
Even when I win an auction or get a question from a buyer I always sign into my eBay account and never use the email notifications to initiate communication with buyer or seller.
Be safe.
Rookie Joe