Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Question about population reports from TPGs

I'm new to coin collecting, but have a general knowledge of "hobby" markets. I know that price is driven by the rariety and condition of a piece. But lets get to the meat of the matter. I am interested in population reports and the possible way they can influence the price of coins. I may be totally ignorant and will take your abuse later.
Lets say the year is 1985 and Peter buys an 1881 CC Morgan raw. He sends it to a grading company and they slab and tag the coin at MS-62. Peter is happy and holds onto the coin for 10 years. In 1995 he sells the coin to a dealer and makes a nice return on his investment. The dealer looks at the coin and thinks it's under graded. So he cuts it out of the plastic and sends it to the same grading comapny where it comes back again at MS-62. Later that year he sends it in again and it comes back MS-63.
Paul is in the market for a CC Morgan and the price is right and buys the 1881 from the dealer at cost plus juice because he wants the coin. Paul runs into money problems a few years later and sells his collection to another collector, Mary. Mary's a coin cook. She cracks the 1881 out of its MS-63 plastic. She dips and tones it and sends it to a different company for grading, it comes back body bagged. So she holds onto it for a few months before resubmitting it. She has the coin make the rounds at all the top teir graders and it comes back either BB or at various grades from MS-61 - to MS-63. Over the years Mary becomes a better cook and gets the toning just right and the fields extra bright. She sends in the coin to a second teir company and it get tagged MS-64.