Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

Lincoln Memorials...Possible New Set

I was thinking about starting up a new set. I'm fairly new at this, but I decided I want to look at Lincoln cents, and determined it would be way too expensive for me to do a wheat set. So, therefore I'm thinking of going with 1959- What should I start with and what are te key dates? Enlighten me as to what you know because I'm still learning. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    I think you will have a lot of fun putting this set together. This is the same set I am working on at the moment. It does have some tough dates to come by especially in higher grade. I would recommend talking to LincolnsRule a board member here as he has some great coins to get you started.

As far as key dates go feel free to PM me sometime and I can share what information I have. I track all my Lincoln coins in a spread sheet that also tracks price and desired grade as well as population. I would be happy to share this information with you if you PM me.

Good luck,

Zach
  • Options
    SteveSteve Posts: 3,313 ✭✭✭
    Believe it or not, you can do a complete basic date Lincoln cent collection (1959 thru 2006) by date and mint mark in uncirculated condition (ie) MS 64/65 red for no more than $100 to $200. Of course, the set would not be slabbed, but it would be complete. You could put your set into a nice Capital holder. Remember, coin collecting is a hobby. If you are interested in the investment nature of this hobby, then sure, you need to get only the top pop coins, but if you are interested in collecting for YOUR enjoyment, then what I suggest could make a lot of sense. Good luck. Steve image
  • Options