Home Metal Detecting
Options

New detector sniffs out some gold.

I recently acquired a new (used) detector since I was having problems with the weight of the GTI. I chose to go with a hip mounted system to get the weight off of my arm and make hunting more enjoyable. I chose the Minelab Sovereign to be my new hunting partner and I am learning the ins and outs of the machine.

After assembling it, I studied the sounds of targets for an hour or so by airtesting as much treasure and trash as possible.
I then took it to the local fairgrounds for it's first hunt. I dug every signal in a small area and came away with a large pile of trash and 9 cents, which included a silver war nickel. (MY first!) I then hit a spot on the midway where all the food stands and rides are set up during local events. I have hunted this area with the GTI and found lots of clad, so I headed back with the Sov.

After about 10 minutes of digging trash I was rewarded with this 14K gold ring, which has a melee size diamond set in the Great Danes eye.

imageimage

This is the coolest ring I've found to date and was really surprised when it came out of the ground. I will continue my learning experience with the sovereign and hope to post some more goodies in the near future.

HH

GR
Analog Rules! Knobs and Switches are cool!
imageimage

Comments

• Options
    WTG on that cool ring John image

I think you're going to love that Sov... it's a powerful tool for turf and sand.

HH! image
  • Options
    Congrats! The Sovereign is a great machine. I swung an Elite for awhile and made some decent finds including my first Barber quarter with it. Swing low and slow and pay attention to those tones.

Next up for me is the Quattro!

Northern California
    Minelab Sovereign GT with 180 meter and Sunray probe.
  • Options
    Very cool ring! Good luck with the new machine.
    I lust for silver.
    imageimageimageimage
  • Options
    marymmarym Posts: 713
    That ring rocks John, very nice find!