Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

who has been working on a single series/set for the longest time?

fcfc Posts: 12,789 ✭✭✭
who has been working on a single series/set for the longest time?

I am trying to put together a half eagle set, 1839-1908, and
I know it will probably never be complete. But getting > 75%
would be a significant achievement that will take years or
decades at my budget level.

I am approaching one year and it has been really entertaining.

what about you?!? have you been at a set for 15 years? 30 years?

Comments

• Options
    LanLordLanLord Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have a type set that I started Christmas day 1969 or 70.

I keep making upgrades and changes to it. That is a fairly lengthy time to work on a set.
  • Options
    foodudefoodude Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭
    I've been working on my MS Franklin set since 1989. I completed it sometime in the mid-90's or so, and have been upgrading, or otherwise improving it since then.

BTW, my last improvement was obtained at FUN. I found a '58-D MS67FBL, that was a bit nicer than the '58-D MS67FBL I had in my set.
    Greg Allen Coins, LLC Show Schedule: https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/573044/our-show-schedule-updated-10-2-16 Authorized dealer for NGC, PCGS, CAC, and QA. Member of PNG, RTT (Founding Platinum Member), FUN, MSNS, and NCBA (formerly ICTA); Life Member of ANA and CSNS. NCBA Board member. "GA3" on CCE.
  • Options
    koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A FULLY STRUCK Mint state date set of Buffalos-just the Philly stuff except for the '31-S and '38-D-for around 35 years now. Still need the 1920, 1929, 1930, and 1931-S.
  • Options
    Steve27Steve27 Posts: 13,274 ✭✭✭
    I'm still working on my Merc dime set; I started in the mid-60s.
    "It's far easier to fight for principles, than to live up to them." Adlai Stevenson
  • Options
    mgoodm3mgoodm3 Posts: 17,497 ✭✭✭
    top this: I started my indian cent collection in about 2003. Working on it ever since.