Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

The life of a Canadian on eBay - shipping charges

I have to get this off my chest. I'm a Canadian and I'm relatively new to graded cards, and as some of you may know I'm attempting to collect a PSA 8 or better rookie from every member of the 1985 Toronto Blue Jays. Well, a well-known company on eBay has recently decided that for a Canadian to purchase a card from them, they must incur the following charges:

1. $3.50 shipping.
2. Buy a U.S. Postal Money order (cost = $4.95)
3. Add an additional $5.00 for them to process the U.S. Postal Money Order.

So let me get this straight. I win an auction for $10. But wait, I know have to add the following:

$3.50 for postage
$4.95 for money order
$5.00 for processing of money order

That's $13.45 in additional charges on a $10 card!

Is it really that risky to ship a card to Canada or process a Paypal transaction?

Comments

• pandrewspandrews Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭
    quit being Canadian..
    ·p_A·
  • You're getting ripped off. You can get a money order from your Canadian bank or the post office that is in $US and drawn on a US bank, so that $5 processing fee is crap. You should also be able to buy an MO for less than $5. I can't help you with the shipping.

As for the risk, yes there is a risk with Paypal, because international packages cannot be tracked through USPS, so sellers are vulnerable to Paypal disputes because they cannot prove the item was delivered.

As a fellow Canadian I feel your pain, but not much you can do.
  • Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,395 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>quit being Canadian.. >>

What's this Perry? Tough love?

Mike
  • International packages can indeed be tracked via USPS...but you need to use "Global Express" service, not Global Priority.
  • pandrewspandrews Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

<< <i>

What's this Perry? Tough love?

image >>

·p_A·

• I agree. You are getting the Great White North Shaft. Don't give them your business.