Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Gold Coin Guru Help Needed!

Hi, I'm a newbie here and also to gold coins. I just received a set of 5 gold coins I purchased from an infomercial on TV. I am a very frugal (some would say tight) person and pride myself on not being swayed by these come-ons and just got caught up in the gold fever. They are 2005 American Eagle $5 gold bullion coins, 1/10 ounce in a nice plastic case. They came from United States Rare Coin & Bullion Reserve, whose parent company is US Money Reserve, in Austin TX. The problem is that they are not graded. I got no paperwork except an invoice. It's easy to see that they are new uncirculated, but I don't know what makes a coin brilliant so I can call them Brilliant Uncirculated. I got them for $48 each. If anyone can shed some light on the company and what I bought, I would sure appreciate it.
Thanks,
Mike

Comments

• Options
    streeterstreeter Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You did ok

gold moves to 575, you should break even.
    Have a nice day
  • Options
    CoinosaurusCoinosaurus Posts: 9,619 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Doesn't much matter if they are uncirculated or not. These will sell mostly for their gold content, not condition. As for the price, you did OK considering it was a TV promotion.
  • Options
    2bucks2bucks Posts: 636 ✭✭✭
  • Options
    DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    image That's not a bad price, they are going for $50 to $60 dollars on eBay right now.
    Becky
  • Options
    RYKRYK Posts: 35,796 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It was probably a teaser deal, and they sold the coins to you at cost. Now, steel yourself for the incessant cold calls from the affiliated boiler room operation and

• Options
    coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,485
    Mike, please don't let the fact that you didn't get taken (THIS TIME) go to your head. If you continue to buy off of television (or radio) promotions, you WILL get burned.