Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Okay, VAMMERS, or Morgan peops in general...what is this on my 89P? - many pics

I've checked my VAM book and don't see this one...maybe its not a VAM? What is it then? This coin features three die cracks plus an unusual raised area near the wreath on the reverse. Here are some pics...they are blurry (shot through 10x loupe).

First pic: Raised area just inside the right branch of the wreath. YES, it IS raised. You can also see one of the die cracks spiking into the top of the E in AMERICA and running into the R.

Second pic: First die crack (mentioned above) in the E in AMERICA:

Third pic: Long die crack running from the left-hand star across the top of UNIT:

Fourth pic: Small die crack spiking through eagle's right wing. Sorry, this pic didn't turn out well.:

If anyone wants to know, this is an 1889P in an old rattler, MS63.
Send Email or PM for free veterinary advice.

Comments

• Options
    CoppernicusCoppernicus Posts: 1,764
    I'm no expert here, but your first pic had me thinking, "die clash." The other pics may or not be supportive of this. I don't know because I don't know the dies well enough. (I know a die clash on an early Linc thouh!)

Could this be just a die clash?

Mike
    Coppernicus

Lincoln Wheats (1909 - 1958) Basic Set - Always Interested in Upgrading!
  • Options
    MonstavetMonstavet Posts: 1,235 ✭✭
    That is what I want to know. It seems as good an explanation as any...but then again, no one else has offered another yet...It is 1:15 in the morning though.
  • Options
    TUMUSSTUMUSS Posts: 2,207
    The first pic is a common die clash mark.
  • Options
    Just to make sure, VAM designations are not given for die clashes, but they are given for die cracks, correct? ALL die cracks? I have the book, but it is still not clear to me what qualifies as VAMS and what does not.
  • Options

<< <i>...maybe its not a VAM? >>