Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Seriously, why do the guys over on the SGC board hate PSA so much?

I admit that I prefer PSA over SGC. However, I never feel the need to criticize SGC (or any other grading company for that matter) on this board. Actually, I think SGC does a good job for the most part. Still, every time I visit their board (which is admittedly infrequent), I am amazed at how many posters over there take each and every opportunity possible to bash PSA. I certainly don't see the reverse over here to the same extent. Are those guys really that a) arrogant b) envious, c) bitter, or d)" in the right" (for a reason I am unaware)? I mean, if SGC is so much better, why do their cards command less money (on the whole)? Of course, I am still new to card grading, so there may be something I am missing here. Any insight will be appreciated. Thanks, Bobby

Comments

• LodiLodi Posts: 78
    C-B-A in that order. PSA=Pepsi......SGC=RC Cola......Beckett=New Coke.....GAI=Diet Pepsi......PRO=image
  • jrdolanjrdolan Posts: 2,549 ✭✭
    I haven't been over to SGC in a dog's age, but from what I remember some of them were banned from CU and others abandoned PSA grading for SGC ... or both. Some bitterness on the part of some, to be sure.

I actually think Sportcard Guaranty Co. is a pretty good and accurate grading service (though I feel they are too lax on centering). And their holder is solid and classy. I have on my desk at this moment a '48 Bowman Rizzuto in an SGC 84 holder that I've been planning to move into PSA 7 slab for my HOF Rookies set. It looks so darn good where it is, I've been procrastinating for weeks now.

When it comes down to it, though, I love my registry sets and I need my cards to be liquid. I do much better with PSA when it's time to sell. If we were talking about pre-war it might be different, but I am 1948 and up.
  • bobbybakerivbobbybakeriv Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭✭