Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Confederate Coinage and a Pilgrim Comm

Was wondering if anyone has any knowledge on these Confederate Coins? For the 1861 the Seller States: Struck from original cancelled dies? The other one the Seller States: United States Copper High Grade sharp, Tradesmen's Currency. What are some thoughts on these? This Pilgrim looks like it has a nice strike and I haven't seen one with this toning type before? Cleaned and retoned? Thanks, Lee

Comments

• Options
    WeissWeiss Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭✭✭
    About the Confederate cent, The 2005 Redbook (p. 297) says that:

"in 1960 the dies were copied and additional pieces made by Robert Bashlow. These show die cracks and rust marks that distinguish them from earlier copies. They have very little numismatic value."

I'm not an expert, but I'm pretty sure this piece is one of those 1960 restrikes.
    We are like children who look at print and see a serpent in the last letter but one, and a sword in the last.
    --Severian the Lame
  • Options
    LeeGLeeG Posts: 12,162
    image Anyone else? Lee
  • Options
    anablepanablep Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I don't know.... but its cool to have something that says "Confederate States of America" on it.
    Always looking for attractive rim toned Morgan and Peace dollars in PCGS or (older) ANA/ANACS holders!

"Bongo hurtles along the rain soaked highway of life on underinflated bald retread tires."

~Wayne
  • Options
    Your Tradesman Currency is interesting, I have one certified by NGC as MS65BN. The following is the info from the slab.

(1861-65) F-202/434A
    Tradesman Currency Token.

• Options
    mommam17mommam17 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭
    I have a PCGS 65 Pilgrim with a very similar toned reverse. I think yours is originally toned.
  • Options
    image Thanks for the hlep guys!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lee
  • Options
    GeminiGemini Posts: 3,085