Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

How much of your coin "fun" are Inet coin boards?...poll

topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭
How much fun would you have collecting coins if there were no coin forums?

Would you expect RELATIVES to enjoy em?

Would you collect more.....or less?

Comments

• Options
    I've been collecting for almost 30 years - I've only been on the forums for 2 - so I guess the other 28 years were ok. image
  • Options
    topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭
    FC....mebbe they were ....foreplay.

• Options
    ziggy29ziggy29 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭
    I could have plenty of fun collecting without them -- I did for many years -- but I do find two things to be true with forums around:

(1) My interest level remains constantly high instead of waning and peaking periodically;

(2) It gives me an opportunity, sometimes, to live vicariously through the coins of others and in so doing, perhaps giving me something to do coin-related which doesn't always result in...spending money on more coins. image

FWIW, I voted for 25% with a slight bias toward the "over".
  • Options
    krankykranky Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭
    Before I joined here, I had only the weekly Coin World, knew no other collectors, and attended the two local shows a year. So for me, this board is a big factor.

New collectors, please educate yourself before spending money on coins; there are people who believe that using numismatic knowledge to rip the naïve is what this hobby is all about.

• Options
    mgoodm3mgoodm3 Posts: 17,497 ✭✭✭
    A pretty big part for me. My wife hardly cares about coins and I don't have any nearby collecting friends. Beyond my shopping for coins (online) and looking at and photographing my coins, this is the place to be.
    coinimaging.com/my photography articles Check out the new macro lens testing section
  • Options
    wam98wam98 Posts: 2,685