Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee Meeting Recap (April 2024)

KellenCoinKellenCoin Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭✭

My name is Kellen Hoard, and I currently serve as one of the Representatives of the General Public on the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee. I am an undergraduate student, and the youngest person to ever serve on the Committee. For those of you unfamiliar with the CCAC, it was established in 2003 by Congress to advise the Secretary of the Treasury on the themes and designs of all US coins and medals. The CCAC serves as an informed, experienced and impartial resource to the Secretary of the Treasury and represents the interests of American citizens and collectors.

This is the second installment of my updates about what the CCAC is doing at its meetings. I think it is critical that the collecting community have insight into and input to the CCAC, and will try to answer any questions you may have.

Here is my update for the CCAC meeting on April 16 and April 17, 2024.

Day 1
1. Dean Kotlowski, a former CCAC member, was given a Public Service Award by the Deputy Director of the Mint.
2. Candidate designs for the Emmett Till and Mamie Till-Mobley Congressional Gold Medal were discussed in consultation with a liaison for the program, Dr. Sheila L. Chamberlain from the Emmett Till Justice Campaign. The design below was selected by the CCAC for recommendation as the obverse. The CCAC also considered eight potential reverse designs, but decided that none merited recommendation to the Secretary at that time. Instead, the committee asked for the Mint to submit a second portfolio of potential reverse designs for consideration.