Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Should I be concerned and perhaps have restoration/reholder done?

This is the first wheat of my adult life set (finished one from circulated finds as a kid) and although I've had it 37 years it seems to be aging about as badly as me. Apologies for the poor picture quality (lightning strike took my photo/microscope computer out). I love the old holder but am concerned that it is a lot less red than when I first got it or is this acceptable for a 64RB in a Green Rattler?

Comments

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭✭

Unless you spot something growing on the surface I would never crack that holder. Nice coin, here is mine.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is this on the coin or holder?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    Slade01Slade01 Posts: 290 ✭✭✭

That's my concern -- it's on the coin and it wasn't there in the distant past, but it sat in a safety deposit box for 30 years so no idea when it started. Reverse is fine but that bothers me to the point that I would consider selling this one and buying another, especially if I could find a nice chocolate brown toner that I have recently become addicted to.

• Options
    jedmjedm Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭✭✭

Interesting. Could that be putty? I know very little about this and the question I just made most likely proves it. I've heard of the use of it on gold coins.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,035 ✭✭✭✭✭

It is now a "problem" coin. Since it is an authenticated 1909-S VDB and is in a PCGS "rattler" holder there will still be interest in it. Rather than starting to spend money on "restoration" you may be better off just selling it as is. It should still bring good money in today's "key in rattler" market.

All glory is fleeting.