Home U.S. Coin Forum

OBW Rolls For Sale. Any One Have Experience Buying From Him?

I see this seller advertising OBW rolls at auction selling so cheap. Is this for real? All his ratings are so glowing stating everything is an original roll and great coins. Here is one example of a roll of 1954S pennies selling for $36, which is 70 cents per coin!!

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Walkerlover said:
    Is this for real?

Nope!

Don't walk away, run away!

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 22, 2024 5:53PM

The roll in the first post is already sold; the OP perhaps has his eye on one of the rolls listed above.

• WalkerloverWalkerlover Posts: 851 ✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:

@Walkerlover said:
    Is this for real?

Nope!

Okay thanks. Are the reviews fake than?

@Walkerlover said:

@OAKSTAR said:

@Walkerlover said:
    Is this for real?

Nope!

I wouldn't even waste my time looking at the reviews.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• DisneyFanDisneyFan Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭✭✭

The website looks legitimate. Why not e-mail the seller and learn more about him. He has been on eBay since 1999, Just remember there is no Santa Claus in numismatics.

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,507 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Walkerlover said:
    I see this seller advertising OBW rolls at auction selling so cheap. Is this for real? All his ratings are so glowing stating everything is an original roll and great coins. Here is one example of a roll of 1954S pennies selling for $36, which is 70 cents per coin!!

You're kidding, right?

Greysheet bid in a BU roll of 1954-S cents is $14.00. CPG is $19.00. They are likely exactly what they claim to be. Those rolls are neither rare nor valuable even if they are OBW which most aren't.

@OAKSTAR said: