Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1956 D Wheat Penny. How can you tell normal wear from mint mistakes?

Xceler8rXceler8r Posts: 18
edited April 10, 2024 10:23AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I am new to coin collecting. been going thru coins my father gave me. This is a 1956 D penny that seems to have mint error on it but, I am not sure. How can you tell from it has just had a hard life to a mint mistake?

Comments

• Options
    yspsalesyspsales Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

Uncirculated Minst State

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• Options

About Uncircuated with small problems

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• Options
    edited April 10, 2024 10:24AM

Your coin with typical heavy circulation, post mint damage, and safe to spend.

• Options
    Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭✭✭

Use common sense.

• Options

• Options
    FrazFraz Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Xceler8r said:
    How can you tell from it has just had a hard life to a mint mistake?

It takes time reading and looking at coins. Most of us started by filling albums years ago.
    Learn the process by which the mint makes coins. Then you’ll know when the flaw comes from the mint.

• Options

I had seen this 1956 D on ebay with similar damage. I am new to coin collecting. When I came across a similar coin on the internet, I thought I would ask about it on this site. I know it is ebay and people scam people all the time. I was not aware that this is a stupid question. I will not do it again.

• Options

@Fraz said:

@Xceler8r said:
    How can you tell from it has just had a hard life to a mint mistake?

It takes time reading and looking at coins. Most of us started by filling albums years ago.
    Learn the process by which the mint makes coins. Then you’ll know when the flaw comes from the mint.