Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Does this 1909 vdb Lincoln look like a proof to you?

BUFFNIXXBUFFNIXX Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭✭✭

This coin is being sold on ebay for a bit under 13 grand and to me does not look like a proof. It is supposedly in a pcgs pr62 holder but you cannot tell for sure. There is no pic included that shows the whole obverse of the pcgs holder with the coin in it. Any Lincoln cent collectors here think this is a proof from these pictures? I think not but in deference to the seller I am not an expert on the vdb proofs but? To me something odd going on here.
If you want to scoot over to ebay and look at the auction it is number 276258144468 and there are more pictures in the actual auction than I am showing here.

Collector of Buffalo Nickels and other 20th century United States Coinage
a.k.a "The BUFFINATOR"

Comments

• Options

Here are some more pictures from this auction 276258144468
    I am actually showing all the pix that are included in the auction

a.k.a "The BUFFINATOR"
  • Options
    IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭✭✭

@BUFFNIXX said:
    This coin is being sold on ebay for a bit under 13 grand and to me does not look like a proof. It is supposedly in a pcgs pr62 holder but you cannot tell for sure. There is no pic included that shows the whole obverse of the pcgs holder with the coin in it. Any Lincoln cent collectors here think this is a proof from these pictures? I think not but in deference to the seller I am not an expert on the vdb proofs but? To me something odd going on here.
    If you want to scoot over to ebay and look at the auction it is number 276258144468 and there are more pictures in the actual auction than I am showing here.

Yes, it's a proof. Just look at the photos for die markers (there are several) and match them to another proof.

If you want to see the PCGS TrueView of the coin and photos of the coin in the PCGS holder, just look at the CERT page and the Heritage auction listing from last year: