Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Buying/selling on Whatnot - helpful hints?

jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,043 ✭✭✭✭✭

I just got approved to be a live seller on whatnot. I'm really new to whatnot. Are there any "veterans" either as buyers or sellers who have any advice?

Comments

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,447 ✭✭✭✭✭

Never heard of it. Is it similar to eBay?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options

@PerryHall said:
    Never heard of it. Is it similar to eBay?

Kind of. It's an app. They also run live auctions which seems to be the dominant selling method.

Unlike eBay, sellers need to go through an approval process. As a result, most (all?) If the sellers appear to be legitimate businesses. The auctions I watched were almost all being streamed from a coin or comic shop (the two categories I was interested in). Only one of them appeared to be from someone's home.

I really don't know much about it other than it's been popping up on my radar a lot recently so I thought I'd give it a try.

• Options
    jeffas1974jeffas1974 Posts: 319 ✭✭✭

Giveaways seem to be a necessary evil to attract eyeballs especially at first. Other sellers have gone the route of promoting themselves via sponsored giveaways on the streams of the very established sellers. There are extremely few sellers that I saw having success at selling anything outside of what most folks would classify as widgets. Those are a few observations from when I was actively buying last year.

• Options

@jeffas1974 said:
    Giveaways seem to be a necessary evil to attract eyeballs especially at first. Other sellers have gone the route of promoting themselves via sponsored giveaways on the streams of the very established sellers. There are extremely few sellers that I saw having success at selling anything outside of what most folks would classify as widgets. Those are a few observations from when I was actively buying last year.