Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I've been collecting for 50 years (since I was quite young)....

lsicalsica Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭✭

I was 10 years old, and I remember the first coin I found in change myself. It was a 1970-S Nickel, and I thought it was the absolute bees knees ;) I knew it wasn't valuable, but since I lived in NJ at the time S-mint coins were pretty unusual to find in change (actually back then more unusual than finding a common P or D Wheatie). And, no I don't have it any more. I got more numismatically cynical as I increased my numismatic "experience" and spent it on something-or-other. Oh well.

Philately will get you nowhere....

Comments

• Options
    ElKevvoElKevvo Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice! Glad to see you are still interested in coins! I too remember finding an occasional D mint and very occasionally an S mint coin in change growing up in New England. Canadian coins were much more common than branch mint coins and also were fun to find.

K

ANA LM
  • Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,872 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes, the rarely encountered (on the east coast) S mintmarked cents and nickels were quite an exciting find for a young coin collector.

• Options
    goldengolden Posts: 9,102 ✭✭✭✭✭

I was 10 when I started collecting in 1961. The first thing that I learned was what that little d was for that was under the date of one cent pieces.

• Options
    FrazFraz Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭✭✭

Do they still find San Francisco mint coins in the pocket change and bank wraps out West?

I can’t shake that same feeling I got sixty years ago when I spot that S today.

• Options
    alaura22alaura22 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭✭✭

I remember searching for a 1955-S cent...................in New York........................What was I thinking................... :/

• Options
    BECOKABECOKA Posts: 16,957 ✭✭✭

@Fraz said:
    Do they still find San Francisco mint coins in the pocket change and bank wraps out West?