Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1928 Peace Dollar Value

Hello,

Newbie here. My father recently passed away and my mom was wanting help selling some of his collector's coins.

The estimated value on this MS-66 Superb Gem Peace Dollar says $8000-10,000 but that sounds like it's too high. If anyone was willing to share their knowledge, I would be very appreciative!

Comments

• Options
    Project NumismaticsProject Numismatics Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum and so sorry for your loss.

Unfortunately what Mark Feld states above is true.

Please keep your expectations low and ignore the “estimate” from this label. When you have a chance, post clear photos of both sides of each coin. This forum usually arrives at the market value quickly if the photos are reasonably decent.

Ultimately, the coin(s) may be worth more as a keepsake of your family’s history.

Folks here can also refer you to a local coin shop where you can either ask for an appraisal or an offer. Just ask if that’s the route you want to go.

• Options
    GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 846 ✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum
    That is what is known as a basement slabber and is not one of the recognized grading companies.
    Chances are that it is not even a MS 66 grade.
    That slab has no value so if you want to remove it and supply a clear photo of both sides, someone here will be able to give you a more realistic grade and value.

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,095 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Greenstang said:
    Welcome to the forum
    That is what is known as a basement slabber and is not one of the recognized grading companies.
    Chances are that it is not even a MS 66 grade.
    That slab has no value so if you want to remove it and supply a clear photo of both sides, someone here will be able to give you a more realistic grade and value.

Chances are good that it’s not even a 65 grade.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options