Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Story of an Anax submission

Around 2008 I was able to buy several 2 1/2 dollar gold Indian coins from an estate collector on the East Coast. Living on the West Coast I had many conversations with him and ended up buying about 10 of them. At the same time annex was having a gold special something like $10 a coin so I submitted all of them. The best one came back as not genuine, the rest came back graded au 50 through MS 62. I was disappointed in the grades because I thought they looked better, but then I’m not an expert so I decided to sell the two best coins, ms61 and ms62. After looking at the rest of the coins for about a year, I became suspicious and cracked out the remaining coins and sent them to PCGS. Every one graded many grades higher. The AU 50 was a AU 58. The AU 58 was MS 62. Although I was delighted with these higher grades, which rarely happens, it made me wonder what the MS 61 and MS 62 would have graded by PCGS. Years later, I remember reading about some tough grading at anax.
I learned my lesson the hard way, just stick with PCGS and don’t look back

Comments

• Options
    ajaanajaan Posts: 17,126 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 15, 2023 10:56AM

ANACS?

DPOTD-3
    'Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery'

CU #3245 B.N.A. #428

Don
  • Options
    BifBif Posts: 14 ✭✭✭

ANACS yes sorry for thy typo’s

• Options
    privatecoinprivatecoin Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭✭✭

Anacs soap bar, blue, or yellow holder?

Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value. Zero. Voltaire. Ebay coinbowlllc

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,046 ✭✭✭✭✭

@DoubleEagle59 said:
    Tough crowd.

It's the dance that predates TPGs.

Seller/owner: How could they only call this luster bomb a 66!!!

Buyer: Look at the marks on the obverse. How could anyone call this a 66?

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,949 ✭✭✭✭✭

Opinions are just that opinions. Value them as you please.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options