Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Advice/information on Kennedy first Franklin last half's

Would love some advice on these Uncirculated, some staining is apparent, I have no idea what has caused it, wondering how valuable these could be with such damage if unreversible. Could these be cleaned, or is it better to leave them in packaging and get an expert to solve the issues?

Tagged:

Best Answers

• Options
    lcutlerlcutler Posts: 523 ✭✭✭✭
    edited September 29, 2023 1:12AM Answer ✓

The coins have toned where there are holes in the mylar allowing the air to get to them. Probably were stored in a damp environment judging by the rust on the staples. There isn't a lot of value there, but I'd get them out of the holders and put them in new ones.

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Answers

• Options

Thanks, I was obviously hoping for them to be valuable! so the packaging holds (no value) providence or evidence of being UNC?

• Options
    Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭✭✭

The coins are what's called "junk silver", which means they're only worth silver value, about $8 each.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,014 ✭✭✭✭✭

The coins were packaged like that in the 1960's and look to have been very poorly stored. I would consider both coins to be nothing more than melt value. Both coins are very common.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options

@Lith - Can you give us a little history on them, like where you got them?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options

@OAKSTAR said:

No they are not mine, but I will probably buy them now given these valuations, scrap value is the best price to buy them other than face value, its a win win.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,536 ✭✭✭✭✭