Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Have You Ever "Drastically Changed" The Appearance Of A Coin, Submitted It................

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭✭✭

................and it came back straight graded? Would like to see examples if you have any.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options
    Che_GrapesChe_Grapes Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭✭✭

No but I have NOT drastically changed the appearance of what I thought was a unaltered coin and got a details cleaned grade …
    I guess that doesn’t count … :neutral:

• Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don’t have pics but I have dipped coins and successfully upgraded them.

• Options

@keyman64 said:
    Yep. I took a dipped/cleaned white silver coin, put it in a 1960s proof set envelope, and hung it in my Florida garage with a clothes pin for a few months, checking on it about once per month. It toned over with yellows/browns. It graded problem free MS63 with variety attribution and I auctioned it. The coin was a cherrypick at a show and I owned a higher graded example. I don’t have pics of that one or they might be buried on one of several external hard drives. It was about 10-11 years ago and no True View was taken.

If you should come across the pics, let us know.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    edited June 27, 2023 6:57PM

@cameonut2011 said:
    I don’t have pics but I have dipped coins and successfully upgraded them.

If one gets the method down on exactly how to dip a coin, it can be very successful.

• Options

@keyman64 said: