Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Grading help for vintage and modern basketball/baseball cards

Appreciate all the help in advance. Since I'm new to this, still trying to understand grading process, especially given the cost (didn't originally realize PSA7-10 were essentially varying degrees of mint to my eyes). Found some old baseball cards in my dad's collection, I'm guessing none of them are worth grading due to condition? Also, for post-1980 cards, it sounds like none of them are worth grading (unless due to rare exception. I've shown some images of cards, do you think any of these are worth grading since pre-1980 cards are in used condition, and the post-1980 cards need to get extremely high grades.

Comments

• Options
    swish54swish54 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭✭

The first pic, I'd say all those are 4's at best and probably lower with the Chamberlain/Walton on the right also getting a ST qualifier. The bottom right Robertson might be just a bit better, 5ish.

The Jordans in the next two pics are hard to tell. Being more modern, they'd need to grade 8+ to make it worthwhile.

The vintage baseball, again, I'd say most of them max out at a 4. The ones I'd consider grading out of that group would be the Aparicio (because it's his RC) (PSA 3-4OC), Seaver (PSA 5).

The last pic of rookies, again, they'd need to get a high grade 8+ to make most worthwhile. Hard to tell from those pics, but the Rodman and Pippen, and maybe the McGwire are OC which would really hurt their value.