Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

PSA Grading Advice

I got back into baseball card collecting a while back, not having done so since childhood. I am relatively new to looking at cards as a 21st Century adult, in particular, the 1-10 PSA scale. Until I started learning about this, I was pretty much blind to it. Now I can't unsee... :D

But I wonder if I may have gone too far in the nit-pickiness direction, and that's where I could use the advice of someone with more experience.

I'll use 1988 Topps Bo Jackson as the test card.

The old me would look at it and say it's a 10. But looking more closely:

Top Left Corner: There are some ink issues with the name, I'm not sure the corner is sharp, and there seems to be some white on the edges near the red and blue.

Top Right Corner: Seems like some hanging chads or whatever there.

Bottom Left Corner Oh my! Look at that discoloration and fraying. Ouch.

Bottom Right Corner: More edge discoloration.

So, to my untrained eyes at this moment, this looks like a PSA 8 to me. The reason I am not so sure about that 8, is because when I examine PSA 10s from the 70s and 80s, none of them look exactly perfect to me. I'll use 1975 Milt May as an example.

But if we look at the bottom left corner, for example:

That looks like a slightly discolored, maybe even nicked corner to me. But it's a 10. So maybe I'm grading too harshly, with the Bo Jackson example?

What do you all think?

Comments

• GroceryRackPackGroceryRackPack Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭✭✭

I like the 75 Milt May

• emaremar Posts: 697 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, welcome.
    Not all 10s are created equal. Not sure, the graders probably look at 60s, 70s, & 80s models a little differently than modern.
    Jackson might be too OC t/b to get a 10

• bobbybakerivbobbybakeriv Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭✭