Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

New NFC Technology

Hi all!

As I am fairly new in the collecting of American coins, and don't yet have 100's of them to worry about, I am thinking of trying to keep my whole collection in the new PCGS NFC Slabs.

I have about 36 that I am thinking of taking advantage of their offer and have them re-slabbed using this technology... What are your thoughts?

1. Would you pay more for a PCGS certified if it was NFC?

2. Do you think that there is any better level of security?

3. Would you be concerned with loosing Early Release, Anniversary, First Strike status?

4. Would you be worried about having the new grade dropped?

5. Do you think that using the NFC technology to determine if you want to make one purchase over another is a valuable criteria if all else is pretty much the same?

6. If you do something like this to any of your coins, would you add that to the cost of that individual coin, or would you just chalk it up to an expense of the hobby?

7. Do you use the True View image as the pic that you use in the registry or use your own?

8. With the coins I have to send in, I'm struggling a bit on filling out the paperwork... I have some just to 'Reholder', some to Crossover, a 'Variety Attribution' or two... do I keep the Reholders that are variety's separate from the ones that aren't?

9. Figuring out pricing is also a challenge. It looks like there are so many options, I really don't know what boxes to check. Will PCGS accept a form w/o the boxes checked and just let you know the cost?

10. When you have to have the CAC label reapplied, you need to submit a pic of the coin in the original slab to CAC who apparently will charge a nominal fee. Would the TrueView pic work?

I know that PCGS and CAC can answer some of these questions, but it would be good to know if any of you have first hand knowledge on those items... and opinions on all.

Thanx and Clear Skies!
Jeff