Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

Magnification for grading coins?

fcloudfcloud Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭
I was wondering what magnification other people use to check raw coins to make a determination for sending the coins in for grading? I use a 20x-30x that I have been using for about 25 years. I was told by a customer service rep at PCGS that this is way too much. Recommendations welcome, but please let me know why you're recommending a spacific size, type, or brand.

Tony

President, Racine Numismatic Society 2013-2014; Variety Resource Dimes; See 6/8/12 CDN for my article on Winged Liberty Dimes; Ebay

Comments

• FairlanemanFairlaneman Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Light is more important.

5 to 10 power should be fine. Higher power distorts the flaws a coin might have. The higher power is usually used for varieties, repunched Mint Marks and such.

IMHO.

Ken
  • wayneherndonwayneherndon Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭
    I use a 7x to prescreen and then a 10x to finalize. I particularly like the 7x on larger coins because I can see more of the coin at a time. This greatly speeds up the process when examining several coins. I like the Hastings Triplet Bausch and Lomb brand magnifers because they magnify without distorting. (I guess due to the extra lens) they are a bit more expensive but well worth it if one uses magnification with much frequency.

WH
  • fcloudfcloud Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭
    Ken,

Can you expand on the "Light is more important."

Is there a spacific bulb or wattage?

Thanks,
    Tony

President, Racine Numismatic Society 2013-2014; Variety Resource Dimes; See 6/8/12 CDN for my article on Winged Liberty Dimes; Ebay