Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

I have a dot .

Hello everyone :)

I'm relatively new to the grading process and brand new to the forums (this is my first post!) :) I have a card (in this case, a Pokemon card) that looks like it would grade at an 8 or possibly 9.......if only not for a small red ink dot on the card, 1mm in diameter. See left side of card here:

So, I have some questions-

1. Is a dot of this size enough to get slapped with the MK qualifier?

2. Is removing a dot like that, if possible, against PSA grading 'rules'? So far I've tried only light pressure, a drop of water, with a microfiber cloth.

3. If an 8 sells for 300-400 and a 9 could go for up to 800-900, what do you think an 8 or 9 with an MK designation would do to the value? I am looking to weigh the risk of attempting to remove it versus leaving it and grading (if that's even an option or possible)

Thanks for any advice anyone can offer. Really I'm just looking to see what you all would do to maximize profit in this spot.

Comments

• OAKESY25OAKESY25 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭

what is the dot? is it ink> is it raised?

• thundersonicthundersonic Posts: 4
    edited October 9, 2020 6:57PM

@OAKESY25 said:
    what is the dot? is it ink> is it raised?

It appears to just be ink. Lets call it a dot from a marker.

• That’s a common “error” card that Pokémon collectors seek out. The Blastoise ‘red-dot’ error. There have been cases of PSA 10 with the red dot.

• blurryfaceblurryface Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 9, 2020 9:22PM

@Mitchandrsn said:
    That’s a common “error” card that Pokémon collectors seek out. The Blastoise ‘red-dot’ error. There have been cases of PSA 10 with the red dot.

don't know much on pokemon but if this is true, do NOT touch. send it off. collectors love variations.

• I'm freaking out :o

• This is AMAZING!!!

• bobbybakerivbobbybakeriv Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭✭

I'd send it in as is... it doesn't seem to take away from the overall appearance to me.