Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Legion of Doom

I'm a lifelong Philadelphia Flyers fan. Sadly, I was born only a few years prior to the two times the franchise hoisted the Stanley Cup. I have been fortunate to watch some very talented players wear the orange and black and likely none more memorable than the Legion of Doom.

When one of my kids got me back into collecting several years ago, I did so with the goal of getting my collection out of boxes and in to the open where I could enjoy it. I've even gone so far as to digitize some of my favorite stuff.

One of the first ideas I had was to reunite the Legion of Doom forever in my office. Grabbing Lindros and LeClair 10s was really easy and accomplished fairly quickly with minimal investment. A Renberg 1992 Upper Deck 233 10 with a POP = 13 was a bit more elusive and I've been pursuing one for several years without seeing any for sale.

I'm not an overly patient person so my impatience was finally enough to drive me into the closet to pull out card boxes that I knew included the raw card I was chasing. I found two and submitted them to PSA in April with the hopes that I would at least hit 9 since the cards had likely been in the box mentioned for at least 25 years and a silly number of moves.

Happily the grades popped today for the sub and I was excited to read the following:

43146362 GEM MINT 10 1992 Upper Deck 233 Mikael Renberg
43146363 GEM MINT 10 1992 Upper Deck 233 Mikael Renberg

Not only did I beat 9, but hit 10 on both cards subbed! Time to get a frame!

Happy Friday collectors!

Comments

• DBesse27DBesse27 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭✭✭

Wow, congrats on beating the odds!

Yaz Master Set
    #1 Gino Cappelletti master set
    #1 John Hannah master set

Also collecting Andre Tippett, Patriots Greats' RCs, 1964 Venezuelan Topps, 1974 Topps Red Sox

• georgebailey2georgebailey2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭

Fortunately/unfortunately, I am old enough to remember the hoisting of the two Cups.