Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

costs to certify and grade dimes

So I sent out 29 coins to PCGS to be graded. Mostly Morgan dollars, but a few older half dimes, shield nickles and a few mercury dimes. They charged me $40 per coin because some of the coins were worth over $3000. How can anyone justify spending $40 to certify a dime that may only be worth $10 - or even $100 bucks. Am I missing a deal here or something?
best regards
Paul

Comments

• I have several hundred mercury and Roosevelt Dimes in mint condition that I would love to have graded. Many have DDO, DDR and RPM mint errors and such that I inherited. I am very new at all of this so some advice would be helpful.

• robecrobec Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭✭✭

Don't send coins that are worth less than $300 with coins that are worth more than $3000.

The cheaper coins should be sent using Economy Service which is $22 per coin.........$27 if you want Gold Shield.

• I just listed this 1946-P Roosevelt with DDO FS-104 at eBay item number:163515319649 I have a number of similar quality dimes. If I were to submit this one listed and my others would PCGS automatically find these special errors or do I have to point them out? I ask because I really do have a bunch and I do not want my time nor money wasted on non attributed Vams or whatever they are called.

• ilikemonstersilikemonsters Posts: 767 ✭✭✭✭

@PaulEngelbrecht said:
    I just listed this 1946-P Roosevelt with DDO FS-104 at eBay item number:163515319649 I have a number of similar quality dimes. If I were to submit this one listed and my others would PCGS automatically find these special errors or do I have to point them out? I ask because I really do have a bunch and I do not want my time nor money wasted on non attributed Vams or whatever they are called.

You would send them under variety attribution. PCGS would locate the variety if the coin has one. If it does not, they will send it back without a variety attributed.