Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Needs some advice on selling on eBay

jmlabonnerjmlabonner Posts: 325 ✭✭✭
edited November 25, 2018 11:14PM in Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

So I am a disabled Veteran and am unable to work, VA disability doesn't help much during the holidays! So I've decided to sell the 1981 Topps Traded Autograph Set I've been working on to make some extra cash. The link to my cards I am referring to is below, I'm not expecting it to make a ton of money or anything. I just need some advice on the best way to list them on eBay:

https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/935594/1981-topps-traded-autograph-set-so-far-updated-10-10-2018/p1

All of them at once with a buy it now price or bidding? How much?
Team Sets with a buy it now price or bidding? How much?
Single cards with a buy it now price or bidding? How much?

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

John

Comments

• slum22slum22 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭✭

John, I suppose it depends on how quickly you want the money. If you need the money quickly then I would say selling via auction would probably be the way to go. However, my advice would be to sell the cards as BIN/BO. I am generally risk averse and I think you run too great a risk in auction at getting less than what you want out of the set. I feel like unless what you are selling is in great demand it is a very risky proposition to get enough bidders to drive up the price on an auction. I don't know what the market is for 1981 Topps Traded Autos but I have a feeling it is a fairly niche market. For items like that I would try listing via fixed price auction first to see if you get any offers. I would also think team lots or just one large lot would be the most efficient way to sell the cards.

Steve
  • craig44craig44 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would second BIN/BO. this way you can set prices you are comfortable with. I fear you may not realize as much as you are selling out of season. Do you have any football or basketball alternatives?