Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

National Banknotes

sharkyrexsharkyrex Posts: 23
edited February 27, 2018 8:03PM in U.S. & World Currency Forum

Hello,

I'm new to collecting notes, and would like to pose a question. Are National Banknotes still redeemable? (Like This) I tried to do some research on Google and could not find an answer.

Thank you.

Buying all low end varieties of the $1 bill.

Comments

• STLNATSSTLNATS Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭
    edited February 27, 2018 9:28PM

Yes, but much higher collector value of course.

Always interested in St Louis MO & IL metro area and Evansville IN national bank notes and Vatican/papal states coins and medals!
  • Timbuk3Timbuk3 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

:) !!!

Timbuk3
  • TitusFlaviusTitusFlavius Posts: 317 ✭✭✭

It depends what you mean by "redeemable". They remain legal tender at their face value, at least since the Legal Tender Act of 1965. In their day, they were expected to be redeemable in gold, or silver, coin by the bank of issue. Nowadays, I doubt whatever giant modern bank, having gobbled up a particular national bank, would redeem an NBN in similar fashion. They would still accept it as a deposit, or exchange it for current money, since Uncle Sam will still accept them, though. If you're looking for someplace to spend a National at face, I'll happily volunteer, lol!

But in all seriousness, happy collecting! National bank notes are probably my favorite series of US currency.

"Render therfore unto Caesar the things which are Caesar's; and unto God the things that are God's." Matthew 22: 21
  • clarenze30clarenze30 Posts: 85 ✭✭✭

I have one to share here:

• johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 27,411 ✭✭✭✭✭

nice westfield, ma note :)

• @TitusFlavius said:
    It depends what you mean by "redeemable". They remain legal tender at their face value, at least since the Legal Tender Act of 1965.