Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

How would I get a 1955 Topps Roberto Clemente Rookie Card graded?

Hello I'm a newbie to this Sports Card forum, I usually hang out with the Coin Freaks. I just found a 55 Clemente Rookie Card I bought at a Flea Market back in 1976 or so. I know next to nothing about Card Grading but I think/hope/pray it's at least a 5. I just found the membership signup page for PSA and while trying to decide on Gold vs Platinum membership I see that values on submissions are limited to a maximum $499 per Card. Well, since I hope this Card is worth upwards of $2,000 , how do I go about submitting it for grading?

I was looking at upcoming shows and theres the National Show in Cleveland Aug 1-5. Would it be a better idea to submit my Card in person? I need a good excuse to hit a good Card Show and Cleveland is about a 4 hr drive for me.

Comments

• Options
    burghmanburghman Posts: 806 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 28, 2018 9:10AM

I'm relatively new here too and I've found the members to be very helpful in this area - if you post scans of the card, you'll get lots of feedback from experienced folks letting you know their opinions of the grade you're likely to get. They'll even let you know if you may get grade qualifiers (off center, miscut, etc.). From there, you can figure out whether to submit it for grading and at what level (the pricier the card, the more it costs to grade - expand the "Card Authentication and Grading" option here for costs based on the estimated value of the card: https://www.psacard.com/onlinesubmissioncenter/).

Submitting in person seems to be a good idea if you can - you save on the insurance/shipping costs to PSA and the stress that I always feel when the item is in transit. They may even offer card grading on site at some of the bigger shows, which would also save insurance/shipping costs back to you.

Good luck.

Jim

• Options
    BatpigBatpig Posts: 460 ✭✭✭