Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Wax pack for newbie suggestions?

Spartcom5Spartcom5 Posts: 392 ✭✭✭
edited December 27, 2017 7:25PM in Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Hey guys I am relatively new to the hobby and I was wondering what's a good year for baseball to open some cheaper packs? I saw the Desert Shield packs and was considering purchasing some. Any other suggestions like from the 80s or 70s? I am open to Football and Basketball as well!

Comments

• Options
    secretstashsecretstash Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 27, 2017 7:24PM

Do you mean Desert Shield? What is the source of the packs? I would think only BBCE Steve could be trusted identifying them. And even then it takes opening 2 random packs in a full box.

• Options

Yup desert shield, just changed it! Are they really that hard to find authentic ones??

• Options

Cards, no because of ebay or other auction sites. Packs, yes--very.

I wouldn't trust anyone but BBCE and I don't believe he has any, but I could be wrong.

Do you have a source for them that you believe you can trust?

• Options
    coinspackscoinspacks Posts: 971 ✭✭✭✭

1983 topps baseball is a good year....boggs, gwynn, sandberg rookies plus cal ripken 2nd year card.

• Options

Is there a chance buying a box of 1983 wax packs would pan out in your favor $ wise? Or does the cost of the boxes now basically nullify any gains you may get.

• Options

only way to make some nice $$ on opening boxes is if you can pull a card that grades psa 10

psa 9 would work if you bought a pack and lucked out

• Options
    craig44craig44 Posts: 10,540 ✭✭✭✭✭

I always liked 84 topps football. Smaller sets than baseball and a number of hof rookies

George Brett, Roger Clemens and Tommy Brady.

• Options
    Gemyanks10Gemyanks10 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭

1982 or 1983 Topps Baseball...