Home Q & A Forum
Options

Where can I buy old coins online?

I'm new to coin collecting and I don't want it to be a company that's selling them

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 3, 2017 3:35PM

Ebay, Craig's list. Better to go to a local coin dealer and establish a relationship. Don't be in too big a rush to buy coins or you will learn some hard lessons while loosing money.

• Options
    mannie graymannie gray Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ibuycoinsoffebay said:
    I'm new to coin collecting and I don't want it to be a company that's selling them

Why not?

• Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭✭✭

What sort of coins are you looking for?
    You could check out the buy-sell-trade section here.

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    sarikanairsarikanair Posts: 154 ✭✭✭

There are many websites where you can buy old coins. Most collectors buy coins from eBay. However, the problem with eBay is that pricing of coins is sometimes higher than its market value. This is because the seller quotes the price. If you are a beginner, it is always better to ask an expert before buying any coin online. You could otherwise go to authentic online auction houses where you can buy coins by bidding for them!

• Options
    giorgio11giorgio11 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

The prices on eBay are also higher because eBay costs the sellers somewhere from 9%-12% of the total value, which eats up a lot of the dealer's profit margin on a typical coin. Many hundreds of dealers in the U.S. and worldwide, however, have their own websites with coins for sale, many of them at prices lower than they can afford to post on eBay. And the prices are fixed, you are not competing with other bidders like at the big auction houses.

Support Independent Coin Dealers!

Kind regards,

George

VDBCoins.com Our Registry Sets Many successful BSTs; pls ask.
  • Options
    KkathylKkathyl Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭✭✭

kkathyl0 on ebay is pretty good

Best place to buy !