Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Ideas on Greek coin collecting

I'm trying to migrate away from the US coin side to ancients. But I'm having a hard time letting go of the security of date/mintmark series collecting. How does one form a collection of Ancient Greece as opposed to just forming an accumulation? The advice out there seems to be basically "collect what you like". That's completely opposite to the tyranny of Dansco Album hole-filling on which I have been trained. Please help!

Comments

• topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm new at this transition, too.
    My focus is on personal esthetics.
    If I like the looks, I can research the story behind it.

Overly simplified? Maybe, but it's fun and the grade race on US coins became not very.

• MrBreezeMrBreeze Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭

I find that with ancients or any world coin, in general, I know it when I see it (similar to topstuf). I go through inventories and auctions and basically go, blah, blah, blah, ho ,hum ,ho ,hum, WOW! When I say wow, I bookmark that coin and bid within my budget to get it. If I get it, awesome, if I don't, that's fine too. There are so many "Wows" outside of US coins that I never get dissatisfied with what is available.

• SmEagle1795SmEagle1795 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭✭✭

@MrBreeze said:
    I find that with ancients or any world coin, in general, I know it when I see it (similar to topstuf). I go through inventories and auctions and basically go, blah, blah, blah, ho ,hum ,ho ,hum, WOW! When I say wow, I bookmark that coin and bid within my budget to get it. If I get it, awesome, if I don't, that's fine too. There are so many "Wows" outside of US coins that I never get dissatisfied with what is available.

That's a good strategy. I'd definitely suggest either getting a few books or browsing auctions/collector websites to see where tastes gravitate.