Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

How to value a 1.5 million card collection?

While looking for stuff to throw up on my ebay store, found a seller looking to unload 1.5 million cards.

Says previous owner died in 1996 and been in his possession since... unpicked.

Mostly baseball with some 70's, and mostly 80's and 90's. Some hoops and hockey. Some graded 10's.

Plan to look at it tommorrow.

He's asking $5K which is way out of my comfort zone.

Need some guidance since I'm a novice at cards.

Comments

• Options
    AANVAANV Posts: 330 ✭✭✭

Usually anything advertised with this type of hook is a creative seller who is looking to sell his worthless cards to an uninformed buyer.

• Options
    unclebobunclebob Posts: 433 ✭✭✭

@AANV said:
    Usually anything advertised with this type of hook is a creative seller who is looking to sell his worthless cards to an uninformed buyer.

Everything unwrapped and in boxes. Some graded. Figured if owner graded some cards the chances of any value is nil.

Offered him $1000 and he laughed it off.

Onto the next treasure hunt.

• Options
    vols1vols1 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭

$5K for 1.5M junk wax seems like fair price if it's all name brand cards like Topps, Donruss, Fleer and they are nm.mt condition.

• Options
    illini420illini420 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭✭

You get 3 cards for a cent that way... seems cheap :)

• Options
    dontippetdontippet Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭✭

Have you seen the cards or is this sight unseen? Also, I don't know when PSA started, but there probably weren't many PSA 10's before 1996.

> [Click on this link to see my ebay listings.](https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=&_in_kw=1&_ex_kw=&_sacat=0&_udlo=&_udhi=&_ftrt=901&_ftrv=1&_sabdlo=&_sabdhi=&_samilow=&_samihi=&_sadis=15&_stpos=61611&_sargn=-1&saslc=1&_salic=1&_fss=1&_fsradio=&LH_SpecificSeller=1&_saslop=1&_sasl=mygirlsthree3&_sop=12&_dmd=1&_ipg=50&_fosrp=1)
    >