Home U.S. & World Currency Forum

Beginner and triples

I have recently begun collecting one dollar bills that have triples in the serial numbers . . . Like 12344470

Since I'm a beginner at this, is this a useful way to collect? I never seem to come across any misprint or unusual markings or runs of numbers on currency. All advice welcome.

Thanks.

Tagged:

Comments

• TookybanditTookybandit Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭✭

Collect what you enjoy and keep posting! This is a great place to learn and share. The example SN you posted is not quite fancy enough to carry a premium. Coolserialnumbers.com is a good resource to check out for more detailed info.

• gnatgnat Posts: 392 ✭✭✭

+1

Also, this website would be worthwhile frequenting as well: http://www.papermoneyforum.com

• numbersmannumbersman Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭✭

Tooky's got it right(as usual)....go for what pleases you first and foremost.The way one goes about collecting(anything) is a "personal goals" type of thing.Each person has their own turn-ons and certainly their own budget.If it pleases you,you can't really lose.And,if you're collecting right out of circulation(I mean not buying notes above face value) again,you can't really lose.BUT,if your goals are to collect with the idea of profiting down the road when it's time for you to sell(or even just breaking even),you may need to examine carefully your strategy.

Collector of numeral seals.That's the 1928 and 1928A series of FRNs with a number rather than a letter in the district seal. Owner/operator of Bottom Line Currency
  • synchrsynchr Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry, triples do not make it any more valuable when you go to sell but they are really cool looking and you should enjoy your hobby so go for it!

• TootawlTootawl Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭

Collect what makes you happy. I'm rather well known for collecting a certain type of currency that most people wouldn't touch.