Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

PSA vs BGS

I've never used a grading service but I have about 30-40 Tom Brady rookies that I want to get graded. I prefer Beckett because I like the fact that you know exactly where the card stands and what the issues were. I always read that a BGS 9.5 was equal to a PSA 10 but it doesn't seem to be the case with his rookies. Just now an SPX went for 3k in a BGS 9.5 and 6k in a PSA 10. These were at the exact same time.

Is this the norm for most cards or do people just want to fill the PSA registry or...?

I just want to make sure I make the right choice. Thank you for any feedback.

Comments

• Options

Before looking it up, my first thought was maybe the BGS 9.5 was weaker, but it has three 9.5 and one 10 grade. The gap does seem to be larger than expected, but I am no expert in Brady rookies.

For comparison, a 2000 SP Future Watch Brady in BGS 9.5 with two 9.5 and two 10 sold for $10,700 on 2/20/17. A PSA 10 sold eight days later for $16,000.

Joe

IG: goatcollectibles23

The biggest lesson I've learned in this hobby, and in life, is that if you have a strong conviction, you owe it to yourself to see it through. Don't sell yourself, or your investments, short. Unless the facts change. Then sell it all.
  • Options
    rexvosrexvos Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭✭✭

PSA outsells BGS most of the time especially on key RCs. There are a lot of reasons, but the Registry has a lot to do wit it. The exceptions are on the rare occasion cards hit a BGS 10 or even more rare the BGS Black 10 for modern. I only use PSA, for multiple reasons, a lot having to do with my own OCD issues when it comes to my collection. If you are going for resale only use PSA, unless you think you can hit BGS 10s

Looking for FB HOF Rookies
  • Options
    CakesCakes Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭✭✭